Day 7: Feeling A Little More Normal

There's still an hour left, but nothing really went wrong today...

Remember yesterday how we were talking about the bad chemicals overwhelming the good chemicals? For the past week I’ve been having these “waves of despair” wash over me, lasting a few minutes at a time, where I doubt anything will be normal again and maybe I made a huge mistake moving here?

I’m happy to report there were fewer occurrences of those today, and I was able to find some of the positives. The weather was nicer today — warm, but not hot, and lower humidity. I kind of knew where I was going without having to look at GPS all the time, too, which builds confidence.

Since I like making lists:

  • Tesla Wall Connector arrived, so the electrician I have lined up for this is unblocked now. I Supercharged to 95% in Cary yesterday but I’m already back down to 60% with all the running around, so home charging will be more of a priority here.

  • Roomba is set up and working on the downstairs. However, after observing it for a bit, I’m concerned I might need a separate one for the upstairs.

  • The home network is set up now with the Ruckus switch and mesh AP’s. Now all we need to do is add the Ting Internet transceiver and the rest should be ready to go! Sadly, that’s weeks away. We did learn from our friend Valerie who lives here that the town has extended its wifi in some places out to the parking lot, so people can park there and use free wifi. This may be a key part of my WFH strategy until the home WAN is up.

  • We bought a Purple Hybrid king mattress. It won’t be here for a few weeks, though, so we’ll be camping in our house on air mattresses and a cot in the meantime. No big deal here… happy to be in the house, and cheaper than a hotel!

  • We’re now members of The Club at 12 Oaks, though the benefits are kind of nerfed right now due to COVID.

  • We checked our mailbox and had lots of mail, including a lot from the cable company. And a Christmas card delivered to the wrong address (not shown).

  • We did our inaugural load of laundry.

  • I made my first (of many, I’m sure) trips to Lowe’s.

Here are a few more photos from around the house today.

Tomorrow we’re done with the Homewood Suites in Cary, which is good as it’s not coping well in the COVID era. Tomorrow we camp.